Choosing a CMS

BestCMS-WP

Which Open-Source CMS to Use?

After learning about php-based Content Management Systems, I have come to the conclusion that I prefer WordPress. This is the CMS I want to be most familiar with due to being so widely used. (Many clients may ask for it or be familiar with it already.) The reasons and criteria for my choice include the following:

  • Easy and user-friendly dashboard/interface
  • Many plug-ins to choose from (over 30,000)
  • Easy installation (that is an important factor to me!)
  • Easy for designers to communicate to clients for admin functions and features
  • Good SEO capabilities
  • Easy Customization
  • A lot of support documents, guides and tutorials

Good For Designers

I believe most designers should learn WordPress because it is so widely used and because it is a great way to really learn how CMSs work. I also believe it is good for designers to learn other CMSs but that if a designer is familiar with WordPress, then learning other CMSs, such as the more complicated and robust Drupal, would be easier.

Here are some interesting articles comparing WordPress, Drupal and Joomla:

Another reason I believe WordPress is so popular is because it is easy for the client to update content without having to know code. Many businesses choose WordPress for this reason. The interface is intuitive. WordPress can be used for simple websites or it can be used for websites that are more complex, such as for shopping carts and social networking. Some well-known brands using WordPress include:

  • The Wall Street Journal
  • SONY
  • Playstation

So, to start with I’ve decided to choose WordPress and when I feel ready to expand my knowledge and skills, I’ll learn other CMSs like Joomla and eventually Drupal.

 

One thought on “Choosing a CMS

  1. I love getting your blog! Also thanks for putting what the initials stand for. Always hard to remember if you don’t speak the language!

Leave a Reply

